Free AI from ChatGPT
2 free offers from ChatGPT in the aifree.dev catalog, 2 verified: what is free, the catch, card rules and limits.
2 of 2 verified · how we verify
ChatGPT has two free offers in the aifree.dev catalog (student program and free tier). Two are verified by aifree.dev. One of them asks for a credit card. Aimed at students and creators.
Offers
Verified first
| Tool | What's free | Key limits | Card required? | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $804 months | 4 months of ChatGPT Plus free (~$80 value) · Claim by October 31, 2026 · U.S. students… | Card required | Verified · Oct 12, 2026 | |
| Free tierongoing | Unlimited text chats (model not specified) · Limited file uploads · Limited image… | No card required | Verified · Oct 12, 2026 |
What's free from ChatGPT
ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free · $80
Eligible U.S. college students (full-time and part-time) can claim 4 free months of ChatGPT Plus (~$80 value) via SheerID verification; the offer must be claimed by October 31, 2026.
The catch: U.S. students only; card required, renews at $20/month after the 4 free months unless cancelled. One redemption; cancelling early forfeits the rest; App Store/Google Play-billed Plus not supported.
- 4 months of ChatGPT Plus free (~$80 value)
- Claim by October 31, 2026
- U.S. students at eligible degree-granting institutions only
- Charged after 4 months unless cancelled
ChatGPT Free Plan · Free tier
Free plan includes real-time web search, file and image uploads, image generation, voice chats, and study or writing assistance at no cost; the free tier's underlying model is not specified.
The catch: Only everyday text chats are unlimited; file uploads, image generation, voice, and deep research have separate usage limits.
- Unlimited text chats (model not specified)
- Limited file uploads
- Limited image generation
- Limited voice chats
- Limited deep research
Eligibility
ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free
- Credit card required.
- Needs an account sign-up.
- Full-time and part-time students enrolled at eligible U.S. degree-granting institutions, verified through SheerID.
- Verify student enrollment through SheerID.
- Claim the offer by October 31, 2026.
- Provide a payment method at activation.
- Student status: Verify student enrollment through SheerID.
- Region: Enrolled at eligible U.S. degree-granting institutions.
- Deadline: Claim the offer by October 31, 2026.
- Offer ends Oct 31, 2026.
ChatGPT Free Plan
- No credit card needed.
- Needs an account sign-up.
Recent changes
All changes- · Terms updated: ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free (Content updated from https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001493-chatgpt-back-to-school-offer-for-students (checked 2026-10-21).)
- · Verified: ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free
- · Verified: ChatGPT Free Plan
- · Listed: ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free
- · Listed: ChatGPT Free Plan
Mentioned in
- Comparison: Free ChatGPT Alternatives
- Top chart: Free AI Offers Ending Soon
- Guide: How Students Can Get ChatGPT Plus Free
- Guide: Free OpenAI API Access in 2026: What's Actually Free
ChatGPT FAQ
- Do I need a credit card for free ChatGPT offers?
- It depends on the offer. ChatGPT Free Plan does not ask for a card; ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free does.
- Is there a free ChatGPT offer for students?
- Yes. ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free is aimed at students (ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free: student program, eligibility rules apply).
- When does the free ChatGPT offer end?
- ChatGPT for Students - 4 Months Free ends Oct 31, 2026. ChatGPT Free Plan lists no end date.
Every section above is built from the offer data; the sitewide changelog lists all changes.