How to Apply for AI Startup Credits
Who qualifies for startup credits from Anthropic, OpenAI, AWS, Together AI, fal and GitHub, what each application asks for, and the catches.
- Time
- 30 minutes per application
- You need
- A registered startup with a business email address · An account with each provider (Claude Console, OpenAI platform, AWS Builder ID, fal) · Funding details, and for some programs a referral or Org ID from an investor or accelerator
- Last checked
Most AI and cloud companies run a startup program, but the credits are not handed out the same way. Some take direct applications from bootstrapped teams, some only work through a partner investor or accelerator, and the largest amounts almost always need one. This guide covers six programs: who qualifies, what each application asks for, and the catches.
What you get
| Program | Credits (as stated) | Card on file? | Key requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude for Startups | Up to $100K in API credits via a partner VC | Not stated | Not accepting new applications (cohort full); VC partner for the API credits |
| OpenAI for Startups | Not published | Not stated | Referral code from a partner VC |
| AWS Activate | Up to $5,000 (Founders), up to $200,000 (Portfolio) | Paid AWS plan | Pre-Series B, founded in the last 10 years |
| Together AI Startup Accelerator | Up to $15K, $30K or $50K by funding raised | Not stated | Selection-based application |
| fal Startup Program | $1,000, growing to $5,000 with fal spend | Not stated | Based in Europe or Asia; traction or VC backing |
| GitHub for Startups | $10,000 for up to 12 months | Yes | Partner affiliation and outside funding up to Series B |
For the same programs ranked by size, see the biggest AI startup credits. Not funded yet? The free cloud credits comparison lists signup trials and always-free tiers you can claim without applying.
Steps
Before you apply anywhere
- Use a business email on your company domain. OpenAI asks for one, and AWS asks for a professional email on your Builder ID.
- Write a short description of your product and how you plan to use the provider's API or platform. Most forms ask for it.
- Have your funding details ready: amount raised, stage and lead investor, if any.
- Ask your investors and accelerator which of these programs they partner with, and for any referral codes or Org IDs. This is the step that unlocks the largest grants.
Claude for Startups (offer)
- Check claude.com/programs/startups first. As of October 19, 2026 the current cohort is full and Anthropic is not accepting new applications; it points to the Claude Startup newsletter for news of the next cohort.
- Members redeem Startup Stack offers (discounts and credits worth up to $45,000 from companies building with Claude, not from Anthropic) with codes in the Claude Console, and can join live Applied AI group sessions every other week plus Claude Startup events, hackathons and meetups.
- If a VC in Anthropic's partner network backs you, ask them about the additional API credits of up to $100K, which are claimed through the VC.
OpenAI for Startups (offer)
- Ask your VC whether they are in OpenAI's partner network. OpenAI names Thrive Capital, Sequoia, a16z, Kleiner Perkins and Conviction Partners as examples.
- If they are, request a unique referral code from them.
- Find your OpenAI Organization ID: on platform.openai.com, open Settings > Organization settings and look under the General tab.
- Apply with the referral code, a description of your product and API use, your company name and key team contacts with a business email, and basic funding details. No pitch deck is needed.
AWS Activate (offer)
- Create or sign in to an AWS Builder ID with a professional email, verify it and complete your profile.
- Choose Activate Founders if you are self-funded, or Activate Portfolio if an accelerator, angel or VC firm that is an Activate Provider gives you its Org ID.
- Enter your product, funding stage and company profile.
- Create or link an AWS account on a paid tier plan to your Builder ID and submit. AWS says you'll hear back within 5-10 business days.
Together AI Startup Accelerator (offer)
- Fill out the form on together.ai/startup-accelerator. It asks how much funding you have raised, how many paying customers you have, your current cloud provider and your main use cases.
- Your tier follows your funding: Build (up to $5M raised, up to $15K in credits and 3 hours of engineering time), Scale ($5M-$10M, up to $30K and 6 hours) or Grow (over $10M, up to $50K and 10 hours).
fal Startup Program (offer)
- Create or sign in to a fal account; credits are applied to it.
- Apply at fal.ai/startup-program with your traction or funding and how you plan to use fal.
- Add a partner referral code if a VC or ecosystem partner gave you one. Referred applications are prioritized.
- Expect a short intro call, which fal uses to size your credits.
- Every approved team starts with $1,000. When your monthly fal spend crosses $1,000 or $2,500, contact fal to move up to the $2,500 or $5,000 pack. If you already spend that much when you apply, you can start at the matching pack.
GitHub for Startups (offer)
- Check github.com/enterprise/startups/partners for your investor, accelerator or incubator.
- If they are listed, ask them for a referral; you apply through the partner. If they are not, any investor, incubator or accelerator can apply to become a partner.
- GitHub emails the primary address of the applicant within 2-3 business days.
Limits and the catch
- Partners gate the big numbers. AWS's $200,000 tier needs an Activate Provider Org ID, OpenAI credits need a VC referral code, GitHub requires partner affiliation, and Anthropic's up to $100K is claimed through a partner VC. Without one, the realistic options are AWS Activate Founders, Together AI and fal; Claude for Startups is not taking new applications right now.
- Claude for Startups is closed to new applicants. Anthropic says the current cohort is full and it did not move forward with applications still in review. The program page no longer lists a fixed API credit for members; API credits (up to $100K) come only through partner VCs, and they work only on the first-party Claude API, not on AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other platforms.
- Amounts are maximums. AWS Founders starts at $1,000 (select participants may qualify for up to $5,000), Together AI's tiers are "up to" figures, and fal grows only with your own spend on fal.
- Billing continues after the credits. OpenAI accounts switch to standard billing when credits run out. GitHub products move to paid billing on the card on file after credits are used or 12 months pass, and GitHub runs an authorization charge within a few weeks of onboarding; a failed one locks the account.
- One shot, with conditions. GitHub's offer can be redeemed once, and downgrading before credits are used forfeits the rest and bars reapplying. fal allows one application per company every 3 months and bans reselling or transferring credits. AWS requires you to be new to Activate Credits or to ask for more than you had before.
- Scope limits. Together AI credits don't apply to Reserved GPU Clusters. GitHub credits work only on Enterprise Cloud accounts on GitHub.com, not Enterprise Server or enterprises with data residency. fal is only open to teams based in Europe or Asia.
If it doesn't work
- No partner investor: apply to the programs that take direct applications (AWS Activate Founders, Together AI, fal), or ask your accelerator whether it can become a GitHub for Startups partner.
- AWS rejects the account: check that the linked AWS account is on a paid tier plan and that you chose the right tier. Portfolio without a valid Org ID won't go through.
- No answer from GitHub: decisions go to the primary email of the person who applied, and billing and program emails go to the Enterprise account owner's primary email. Open a support ticket under Credit Offers - GitHub for Startups.
- Your Claude application was not accepted: Anthropic says it emailed everyone whose application was still in review when the cohort filled, and invites them to apply when the next cohort opens. Existing members keep the Startup Stack, Applied AI sessions and events.
- Not eligible for GitHub: GitHub points non-eligible startups to free trials of Enterprise, Advanced Security and Copilot.
Offers in this guide
- Claude for Startups · Startup program · no card
Claude startup program, cohort full; up to $100K API credits via partner VCs
- OpenAI for Startups · Startup program · no card
Free OpenAI API credits and rate limit upgrades for VC-backed startups
- AWS Activate Startup Credits · $200,000 · card
Up to $200,000 in AWS Activate credits for eligible startups
- Together AI Startup Accelerator · $50,000 · no card
Up to $50,000 in Together AI compute credits for startups
- fal Startup Program · $1,000 · no card
$1,000-$5,000 in fal credits for scaling startups in Europe or Asia
- GitHub for Startups · $10,000 · card
$10,000 in GitHub platform credits for up to 12 months for startups
Frequently asked questions
- Can a bootstrapped startup get AI credits?
- Yes, from some programs. AWS Activate Founders is for self-funded startups, and fal accepts teams with real users, traction or revenue instead of VC backing. OpenAI and GitHub require a partner investor, and Claude for Startups is not accepting new applications right now.
- How much does OpenAI give startups in credits?
- OpenAI does not publish an amount. Credits, rate limit upgrades and technical support go to portfolio companies of VCs in its partner network, through a referral code from the VC.
- Do I need a credit card?
- For some. AWS Activate requires an AWS account on a paid tier plan, and GitHub for Startups runs an authorization charge on your payment method after onboarding. The other programs do not say a card is required to apply.
- Can I use Claude startup credits on AWS Bedrock?
- No. Claude for Startups credits apply only to the first-party Claude API through Claude Console, not AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other third-party platforms.
- What happens when the credits run out?
- Usage moves to normal billing. OpenAI switches accounts to standard billing automatically, and GitHub charges active products to the payment method on file.
Sources
Steps and limits were checked against these official pages.
More guides
- How to Get a Free Gemini API Key
- How Students Can Get ChatGPT Plus Free
- How Students Can Get Google Gemini (AI Pro) Free
- How to Use an AI Coding Agent for Free
- How to Get a Free GPU for AI
- How to Get Free Claude API Credits
- How to Get a Free Groq API Key
- Free AI Image Generation: In the Browser and by API
- Free OpenAI API Access in 2026: What's Actually Free
- Free Embeddings and Reranking APIs in 2026
- Free Text-to-Speech APIs in 2026
- Free Speech-to-Text APIs in 2026
- Free AI Video Generators in 2026
- Free Image Generation APIs in 2026
- Free Web Search APIs for LLM Agents in 2026
- Free Vector Databases for RAG in 2026
- Free DeepSeek API in 2026: What Is Actually Free
- OpenRouter Free Models: Limits, Credits and API Setup
- Free Hugging Face Inference: Credits, ZeroGPU and Spaces
- Free AI APIs With No Credit Card in 2026
- Track Free-Tier Changes Automatically
- How to Run AI Locally for Free
- Free Vision APIs: Read Images and Screenshots for Free
- Free Reasoning Model APIs: Thinking Models for Free
- Free AI courses