aifree.dev

Free Text-to-Speech APIs in 2026

Six verified free TTS APIs - ElevenLabs, Cartesia, Amazon Polly, Deepgram, Hume AI, Sarvam - with free characters, concurrency, card rules and catches.

Time
10 minutes
You need
An account with the provider; none of the six asks for a card at sign-up (AWS may ask some new customers for a payment method to verify identity) · For commercial use of the audio: a paid plan at ElevenLabs and Cartesia
Last checked

A text-to-speech (TTS) API turns a string into an audio file or stream. Six verified offers in the catalog let you do that for free, in two shapes: a monthly allowance that refills (ElevenLabs, Cartesia, Amazon Polly) and a one-time credit you spend down (Deepgram, Hume AI, Sarvam AI). Every number below was checked on the vendor's own pricing or docs page on 2026-10-19; where the vendor page did not state a figure, the guide leaves it out.

Compare the free TTS APIs

OfferFree allowanceWhat that buys in speechConcurrencyCardResets
ElevenLabs10,000 credits a month, shared with sound effects and musicAbout 10 minutes; 10,000 characters on Multilingual v2 (1 credit per character), more on Flash v2.5 (0.5-1 credit per character)2 requestsNoMonthly
Cartesia20,000 credits a month, shared by TTS and speech-to-text, plus $1 of voice-agent creditAbout 27 minutes of Sonic-3.62 TTS requestsNoMonthly
Amazon Polly5M characters a month on Standard voices; 1M Neural, 500K Long-Form and 100K Generative a month for the first 12 monthsCharacters, not minutesNot statedNot for most new customersMonthly
Deepgram$200 one-time credit for speech-to-text, TTS and voice agentsAbout 6.6M characters of Aura-2 at $0.030 per 1,000 charactersUp to 45 TTS requestsNoOne-time, no expiry
Hume AI$20 in credits on a new accountSpent on Octave TTS and EVI speech-to-speech at paid ratesSet by tierNoOne-time
Sarvam AIINR 100 one-time credit across all Sarvam APIsAbout 33,000 characters of Bulbul v3 at INR 3 per 1,000 characters30 requests a minute on bulbul:v3NoOne-time, no expiry

The "what that buys" column for Deepgram and Sarvam is our arithmetic from the published pay-as-you-go rate; the vendors state the credit and the rate, not the character count.

Which one to pick

  • Most free speech every month, for good: Amazon Polly's Standard voices, 5M characters a month with no stated end date. The more natural Neural, Long-Form and Generative voices are free only for the first 12 months. Accounts created since 15 July 2025 also choose a free plan (6 months, up to $200 in Free Tier credits) or a paid plan; the free plan ends with the account suspended unless you upgrade.
  • Most natural voices on a monthly plan: ElevenLabs or Cartesia. Both refill monthly with no card, and both keep the commercial-use license on paid plans only, so treat the free plan as a prototype budget.
  • Biggest one-time budget: Deepgram's $200 credit, which does not expire and also covers speech-to-text, so one key serves a whole voice app.
  • Expressive voices and cloning to try: Hume AI's $20 credit; Hume says Octave can clone a voice from about 15 seconds of audio.
  • Indian-language apps: Sarvam AI's INR 100 credit, which never expires and also works for its speech-to-text, translation and LLM APIs.

Steps

  1. Pick an offer from the table and create an account. On AWS, the free allowance applies to Polly once your account exists; you choose the free or paid plan at sign-up.
  2. Create an API key in the provider's console and store it in an environment variable, never in client-side code: anyone holding the key spends your credits.
  3. Synthesize one short sentence first and play it back to check the voice, format and sample rate. On ElevenLabs' Free plan audio is capped at 128 kbps, 44.1 kHz.
  4. Count characters, not requests. Every provider here meters TTS by text length, so cache audio you will play again (fixed prompts, menus, greetings) instead of synthesizing it on every call.
  5. Stay under the concurrency limit: ElevenLabs and Cartesia allow 2 requests at once on their free plans, so queue requests instead of firing them in parallel.

Need speech-to-text too?

Cartesia's free credits and Deepgram's $200 cover both directions. For transcription-only grants, the free speech-to-text API guide compares AssemblyAI, Gladia, Speechmatics, Groq's free Whisper and more, and the free AI voice and audio tools hub lists every audio offer.

When to self-host

When a free allowance runs out or you need audio you can ship commercially without a plan, run an open model locally. The catalog links Piper TTS (GPL-3.0) as the self-hosted stand-in for ElevenLabs, Cartesia, Amazon Polly and Hume: it has no character quota, but no voice cloning or emotional control either.

Limits and the catch

  • No commercial license on the monthly free plans. ElevenLabs lists it from Starter and Cartesia from Pro ($5 a month), which is also where Cartesia's instant voice cloning starts; professional voice cloning needs its Startup plan.
  • Polly's best voices are a 12-month trial. Only the Standard voices' 5M characters carry no stated time limit.
  • One-time credits do not refill. Deepgram's, Hume's and Sarvam's credits are spent once; after Deepgram's, billing continues at pay-as-you-go rates.
  • Free tiers change. Offers are re-checked monthly; the verified date on each offer page is the day we last confirmed it.

Offers in this guide

  • ElevenLabs Free Plan · 10,000 credits/month · no card

    10,000 free credits a month for AI speech, sound effects, and music

  • Cartesia Free Plan · 20,000 credits/month · no card

    Free plan: 20,000 credits and $1 prepaid voice agent credits every month

  • Amazon Polly Free Tier · $200 · no card

    Millions of free text-to-speech characters a month across Polly voices

  • Deepgram Free $200 Credit · $200 · no card

    $200 in free credits for Deepgram speech-to-text and TTS, no card

  • Hume AI Free Tier · $20 · no card

    $20 free credits for new accounts plus a monthly free API tier

  • Sarvam AI Free API Credits · Free credits · no card

    ₹100 in free Sarvam AI credits across speech, translation, and LLM APIs

Understand it

A few minutes of play-along, no sign-up.

Frequently asked questions

Which text-to-speech API has the biggest free tier?
Amazon Polly by monthly volume: 5 million characters a month on Standard voices with no stated time limit, plus 1 million Neural characters a month for the first 12 months. For a one-time budget, Deepgram’s $200 credit buys about 6.6 million characters of Aura-2 at its published $0.030 per 1,000 characters.
Is the ElevenLabs API free?
Yes, within the Free plan: 10,000 credits a month (about 10 minutes of speech; 1 credit per character on Multilingual v2), 2 concurrent requests and no card. The Free plan has no commercial license and no voice cloning.
Can I use free TTS audio commercially?
Not on the ElevenLabs or Cartesia free plans: both list the commercial license on paid plans only. For the credit-based offers (Deepgram, Hume AI, Sarvam AI) and Amazon Polly, check each provider’s terms; the catalog records no commercial restriction for them.
Do free TTS credits expire?
The monthly allowances of ElevenLabs, Cartesia and Amazon Polly reset each month. Deepgram and Sarvam AI state their one-time credits do not expire; AWS Free Tier credits for new accounts must be used within 12 months of account creation.
Is there a free API for both text-to-speech and speech-to-text?
Yes. Cartesia’s 20,000 monthly credits are shared by Sonic TTS and Ink speech-to-text (about 27 minutes of TTS or about 1 hour 51 minutes of transcription), and Deepgram’s $200 credit covers Aura-2 TTS and its speech-to-text models.

Sources

Steps and limits were checked against these official pages.

More guides

Never miss new offers and news

New tools, credits, and AI news are added regularly. Pick how you want to hear about them.

Telegram channel
Join @aifree_dev and get new free AI offers and news right in your Telegram feed.
Browser notifications
Turn on push notifications and get an alert on this device whenever something new is posted. No account needed.
Email newsletter
A weekly digest of new, changed and expiring free AI offers. Double opt-in, one-click unsubscribe.

Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy

Frequently asked questions

What is aifree.dev?

aifree.dev helps everyone access AI through a curated directory of free AI tools, API credits, free tiers, and startup programs for coding, image, voice, video, and students - verified regularly.

How are offers presented?

Each offer includes its access details, free models when available, and expiration information when provided. Limited-time deals stay visible so they are easy to compare.

Do education and startup programs need verification?

Yes. Providers usually ask students to verify their status with a school email, student ID, or a program like the GitHub Student Pack, and ask startups to verify company details such as age, funding, or website. Check each offer’s claim page for the exact requirements.

What kinds of free AI offers are listed?

Free tiers and free trials from AI providers, free API credits, startup and student programs, and free tools for coding, image generation, voice, and video.

How can I suggest a tool or report a broken link?

Use the submit form: paste the offer page URL and a short note. A person checks every submission before anything is listed. Broken links and changed terms go through the same form.

+

Know a good one?

Tell us about an AI tool worth knowing. Found a broken link? We want to hear that too.

Submit an offer