aifree.dev

Free Speech-to-Text APIs in 2026

Seven verified free speech-to-text APIs - Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics, Gladia, Groq, Cartesia, Scaleway - with free hours, rate limits and catches.

Time
10 minutes
You need
An account with the provider; none of the seven asked for a card at sign-up when we verified them · Audio files or a microphone stream to transcribe
Last checked

A speech-to-text (STT) API turns recorded or live audio into a transcript. Seven verified offers in the catalog let you do that for free, in two shapes: a one-time credit you spend down (Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics, Gladia, Scaleway's free minutes) and an allowance that refills (Groq daily, Cartesia monthly). Every number below was checked on the vendor's own pricing or docs page on 2026-10-20; where the vendor did not state a figure, the guide leaves it out.

Compare the free speech-to-text APIs

OfferFree allowanceWhat that buys in audioRate limit or concurrencyLanguagesResets
Deepgram$200 one-time credit, shared with TTS and voice agentsAbout 775 hours of Nova-3 pre-recorded at $0.0043 a minute50 REST, 150 streaming requests at once45+One-time, no expiry
AssemblyAI$50 one-time creditAbout 333 hours of Universal-2 at $0.15 an hour, or 238 of Universal-3.5 Pro5 new streams a minute on the free tierNot statedOne-time; no expiry stated
Speechmatics$100 one-time credit, shared with TTSAbout 222 hours of Standard at $0.45 an hour, or 133 of Enhanced2 real-time sessions at once55+One-time; credits last 12 months
GladiaEUR 50 one-time creditAbout 312 hours of async Solaria-3, or 73 hours real-time (Gladia's figures)Not stated for free credits100+One-time; valid one year
GroqFree plan on whisper-large-v3 and whisper-large-v3-turboUp to 2 hours of audio an hour and 8 hours a day20 requests a minute, 2,000 a dayWhisper's languagesRolling hour and day
Cartesia20,000 credits a month, shared by TTS and STTAbout 1 hour 51 minutes of Ink-2 (3 credits per second of audio)8 STT requests at onceNot statedMonthly
Scaleway60 minutes of transcription, plus 1M LLM tokens60 minutes on its audio-minute models such as whisper-large-v3Not statedNot statedNot stated

The hour counts for Deepgram, AssemblyAI and Speechmatics are our arithmetic from the published pay-as-you-go rate; those vendors state the credit and the rate, not the hours. Groq's figures are its free-plan limits of 7,200 audio seconds an hour and 28,800 a day.

Which one to pick

  • Most free hours, once: Deepgram's $200 credit, which does not expire and also covers text-to-speech, so one key serves a whole voice app.
  • A free allowance that never runs out: Groq's free plan refills every day: up to 8 hours of Whisper audio a day, 20 requests a minute. Good for batch jobs that can wait out a limit.
  • Many languages: Gladia (100+ languages, about 312 hours of async audio for EUR 50) or Speechmatics (55+ languages).
  • Live captions and voice agents: Deepgram's 150 streaming connections; AssemblyAI's free tier opens only 5 new streams a minute, and Speechmatics allows 2 real-time sessions on Free.
  • STT and TTS on one monthly plan: Cartesia's 20,000 credits cover both; for the speech side, see our free text-to-speech API guide.

Steps

  1. Pick an offer from the table and create an account. Speechmatics pauses API access when the free credit runs out instead of billing you; add a card only when you want to continue on pay-as-you-go.
  2. Create an API key and keep it server-side in an environment variable: anyone holding the key spends your credits.
  3. Transcribe one short file first and check the transcript, language detection and timestamps before you send a backlog.
  4. Pick pre-recorded (batch) over streaming when you can: on Deepgram and Gladia, and for Speechmatics' Enhanced model, batch audio costs less per hour, so the same credit lasts longer.
  5. On Groq, split long recordings and queue requests: the free plan counts audio seconds per hour and per day as well as requests per minute.

Need text-to-speech too?

Deepgram's credit, Speechmatics' credit and Cartesia's monthly credits also cover TTS. The free text-to-speech API guide compares ElevenLabs, Cartesia, Amazon Polly, Deepgram, Hume AI and Sarvam AI, and the free AI voice and audio tools hub lists every audio offer we track.

When to self-host

When credits run out or audio cannot leave your machine, run Whisper (MIT) locally; the catalog links it as the self-hosted stand-in for Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics and Gladia. It has no per-hour bill; the tiny and base models need about 1 GB of VRAM and the large model about 10 GB.

Limits and the catch

  • Most free STT is a one-time credit. Only Groq and Cartesia refill, and Cartesia's monthly budget is under two hours of audio.
  • Expiry varies. Speechmatics' sign-up credits last 12 months and Gladia's one year; Deepgram's do not expire.
  • Streaming is the expensive path. Real-time rates are higher than batch at Deepgram and Gladia, and the free tiers cap concurrent streams.
  • Free tiers change. Offers are re-checked monthly; the verified date on each offer page is the day we last confirmed it.

Offers in this guide

  • Deepgram Free $200 Credit · $200 · no card

    $200 in free credits for Deepgram speech-to-text and TTS, no card

  • AssemblyAI Free Credits · $50 · no card

    $50 in free credits for speech-to-text, streaming, and voice agent APIs

  • Speechmatics $100 Free Credit · $100 · no card

    $100 in Speechmatics speech-to-text and TTS credit, no card, valid 12 months

  • Gladia Free Credits · Free credits · no card

    One-time €50 speech-to-text credit, valid one year, up to ~312 hours

  • Groq Free Tier · Free tier · no card

    Free rate-limited Groq API access to hosted open models, no card

  • Cartesia Free Plan · 20,000 credits/month · no card

    Free plan: 20,000 credits and $1 prepaid voice agent credits every month

  • Scaleway Generative APIs Free Tier · 1,000,000 tokens · no card

    1M free tokens and 60 minutes of transcription on Scaleway APIs

Understand it

A few minutes of play-along, no sign-up.

Frequently asked questions

Which speech-to-text API has the biggest free tier?
Deepgram’s $200 one-time credit, which does not expire: about 775 hours of Nova-3 pre-recorded transcription at its published $0.0043 a minute. For an allowance that refills, Groq’s free plan allows up to 8 hours of Whisper audio a day.
Is there a free Whisper API?
Yes. Groq’s free plan serves whisper-large-v3 and whisper-large-v3-turbo at 20 requests a minute, 2,000 a day, up to 7,200 audio seconds an hour and 28,800 a day. Scaleway’s free tier includes 60 minutes of transcription on its audio-minute models such as whisper-large-v3.
Do free speech-to-text credits expire?
Deepgram’s do not. Speechmatics’ sign-up credits last 12 months and Gladia’s are valid for one year; AssemblyAI does not state an expiry. Cartesia’s monthly credits reset each month.
Do I need a credit card for a free speech-to-text API?
No for all seven here when we verified them. Deepgram, AssemblyAI and Speechmatics say no card on their pricing pages; Speechmatics pauses access when the free credit runs out until you add one.
Which free speech-to-text API supports the most languages?
Gladia lists 100+ languages, Speechmatics 55+ and Deepgram’s Nova models 45+.

Sources

Steps and limits were checked against these official pages.

More guides

Never miss new offers and news

New tools, credits, and AI news are added regularly. Pick how you want to hear about them.

Telegram channel
Join @aifree_dev and get new free AI offers and news right in your Telegram feed.
Browser notifications
Turn on push notifications and get an alert on this device whenever something new is posted. No account needed.
Email newsletter
A weekly digest of new, changed and expiring free AI offers. Double opt-in, one-click unsubscribe.

Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy

Frequently asked questions

What is aifree.dev?

aifree.dev helps everyone access AI through a curated directory of free AI tools, API credits, free tiers, and startup programs for coding, image, voice, video, and students - verified regularly.

How are offers presented?

Each offer includes its access details, free models when available, and expiration information when provided. Limited-time deals stay visible so they are easy to compare.

Do education and startup programs need verification?

Yes. Providers usually ask students to verify their status with a school email, student ID, or a program like the GitHub Student Pack, and ask startups to verify company details such as age, funding, or website. Check each offer’s claim page for the exact requirements.

What kinds of free AI offers are listed?

Free tiers and free trials from AI providers, free API credits, startup and student programs, and free tools for coding, image generation, voice, and video.

How can I suggest a tool or report a broken link?

Use the submit form: paste the offer page URL and a short note. A person checks every submission before anything is listed. Broken links and changed terms go through the same form.

+

Know a good one?

Tell us about an AI tool worth knowing. Found a broken link? We want to hear that too.

Submit an offer